$80 WITH NO HIDDEN FEES
All range fees, the class, a target, Minnesota Permit Application, Armed Citizens Legal Defense Network Booklet, Concealed Carry Magazine, Florida Concealed Carry Application Package and a package with tons of information. Most important, you will receive 5 years of support.
Minnesota, Iowa, Arizona,Wisconsin and Florida. Other States might accept it also.
MN, WI, IA, FL, AZ, MI, ME, FL, OK and some additional ones but most will get the MN and FL. That will get you Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Yes, I have over 300 hours of training in the use of deadly force. I have gone above and beyond the required certifications needed to teach the Permit to Carry class. These include being certified by the MN Dept. of Public Safety and MN Bureau of Criminal Apprehension as a Approved Firearms Training Organization. I also am a Certified NRA Pistol Instructor, NRA Range Safety Officer and NRA Certified Personal Protection In The Home Instructor. That is where most instructors stop their training. I am also certified by many different organizations in the Deadly Use of Force, legal aspects and tactics. These include Massad Group, Firearms Academy of Seattle, USCCA and many more.
No, we have firearms available to use for the shooting qualification.
Yes, my main priority is that everyone that takes the class is safe. If you handle a firearm in an unsafe manner you will be asked to leave the class. This is not to pick on anyone but to keep everyone safe.
Overview of the MCPPA Fundamentals of pistol use, safety and mechanical knowledge Ammunition Firearm selection Firearm cleaning Firearm retention Carry methods Legal issues and concepts Use of force Interacting with law enforcement Psychological, physiological and social effects of a violent threat encounter Civil versus criminal law / legal aftermath Reciprocity Live-fire shooting Exercise
Yes I do private classes. The price is dependent on the location of the class. It is cheaper if you provide the class room and range. I can hold a private class with at least 8 people.
A valid government-issued photo ID Tuition Pen Your Carry Weapon* 50 rounds of Ammunition* Ear and Eye Protection*
No, as long as you can hit a torso sized target and handle the gun safely, you will be fine.
I do not sell ammo but do have some that you may use with advanced notice.
They typically last 4-5 hours of class time and then about 5 minutes per person at the range. There will be breaks every hour.
For Minnesota residents, individuals may obtain permits to carry a pistol by submitting an application and other related documentation to the sheriff in the county where the applicant resides. Non-residents may apply to any Minnesota county sheriff.
Yes, when you apply you will need to provide the sheriff with your I-551 or I-151 card, whichever one you have been issued.
Applications will be available at the class and also at the county sheriff’s office or you can download one from the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension website.
No. Applications must be submitted in person to a Minnesota county sheriff.
Must be at least 21 years of age Must complete an application form Must not be prohibited from possessing a firearm under Minnesota Statute 624.714 Must not be listed in the criminal gang investigation system Must be a resident of the county from which you are requesting a permit, if you reside in Minnesota. Non-residents may apply to any Minnesota county sheriff. Must provide certificate of completed authorized firearms training. Training by a certified instructor must be completed within one year of an original or renewal application. (624.714, Subd. 2a)
To keep or carry about the person's place of business, dwelling house, premises or on land possessed by the person a pistol; To carry a pistol from a place of purchase to the person's dwelling house or place of business, or from the person's dwelling house or place of business to or from a place where repairing is done, to have the pistol repaired; To carry a pistol between the person's dwelling house and place of business; To carry a pistol in the woods or fields or upon the waters of this state for the purpose of hunting or of target shooting in a safe area; To transport a pistol in a motor vehicle, snowmobile or boat if the pistol is unloaded, contained in a closed and fastened case, gun box, or securely tied package.
The BCA no longer publishes a list of firearm instructors on the website, but does provide a list of the Approved Business Organizations that the BCA certifies for training classes for the Minnesota Personal Protection Act. The Approved Business Organizations certify the instructors that teach for them. Individuals need to contact those organizations for instructor information.
No. You are only required to present evidence that you have received training in the safe use of a pistol from an organization or government entity that has been approved by the Minnesota Department of Public Safety in accordance with the department’s standards.
Although members of the military received superb firearms training, they must receive training from an instructor that has been certified by an approved business organization in Minnesota. This additional training pertains to the legal aspects of “permit to carry issues”. Military members can contact their local sheriff’s office for further clarification and consideration.
Yes, upon request of a peace officer, a permit holder must disclose to the officer whether or not the permit holder is currently carrying a firearm.
Yes, a permit holder is required to notify the issuing sheriff’s office within 30 days of a permanent address change. Failure to do so is a petty misdemeanor.
No. A permit holder, however, is required to notify the issuing sheriff’s office within 30 days of a permanent address change. Failure to do so is a petty misdemeanor. The permit holder may, however, obtain an updated permit at a cost of $ 10.00. There is a statutory requirement to change the address on your driver’s license within 30 days after changing your residence (171.11).
The permit holder must notify the issuing sheriff’s office within 30 days of having lost or destroyed the permit card. Failure to do so is a petty misdemeanor. The permit holder may obtain a replacement permit card by paying $10.00 to the sheriff.
No. Minnesota’s Personal Protection Act is a permit to carry law, not a conceal and carry law. The pistol does not need to be concealed, but can be concealed.
No. Under Minnesota law, handgun transfers involve any sale, gift, loan, assignment or other delivery to another person. If you possess a valid permit to carry a handgun, that permit constitutes a permit to purchase. You don’t need to apply for a separate permit to purchase.
School property A childcare center while children are present Public colleges and universities – may have policy restricting the carrying of weapons on their premises by employees and students while on campus Private establishments that have posted a sign banning guns on their premises Private establishments who have personally informed the permit holder that guns are prohibited and demands compliance Places of employment, public or private, if employer restricts the carry or possession of firearms by is employees State correctional facilities or state hospitals and grounds (MN Statute 243.55) Any jail, lockup or correctional facility (MN Statute 641.165) Courthouse complexes, unless the sheriff is notified (MN Statute 609.66) Offices and courtrooms of the Minnesota Supreme Court and Court of Appeals Any state building in the Capitol Area of St. Paul described in MN Statute Chapter 15B unless the commissioner of public safety is notified (MN Statute 609.66) In federal court facilities or other federal facilities (Title 18 U.S.C.§ 930)
The fee for a new permit to carry will be determined by the county sheriff, not to exceed $100. A fee for a renewal permit (applied for before the expiration date of a current permit to carry) will be determined by the county sheriff, not to exceed $75. An additional $10.00 fee will be charged for those applying for a renewal after the expiration date on the previous permit, but within 30 days of that expiration date.
The county sheriff must either issue or deny a permit within 30 days of the application date.
New and renewal permits are valid for five (5) years from the date of issuance. Emergency permits are valid for 30 days.
Emergency permits may be issued by the sheriff if he/she determines that the person is in an emergency situation that may constitute an immediate risk to the safety of the person or someone residing in the person’s household.
Any applicant who does not meet the criteria as listed above is not eligible for a permit to carry a pistol. The sheriff may also deny the application if there is a substantial likelihood that the applicant is a danger to himself/herself or others if issued a permit to carry.
Yes. It is a misdemeanor for a person required to register as a predatory offender to carry a pistol.
Minnesota permits are valid throughout the state of Minnesota. Individuals interested in determining whether a Minnesota permit to carry is valid in another state should contact that state directly to determine what the carry laws are. You may also find other resources on the Internet to assist you.
Yes, the permit holder must have the permit card and a valid driver’s license, state identification card, or other government-issued photo identification in immediate possession at all times when carrying a pistol and must display the permit card and identification document when requested by a peace officer.
Yes, private establishments must post a notice banning guns on their premises or personally notify patrons that guns are not allowed.
Landlords may not restrict the lawful carry or possession of firearms by tenants or their guests.
Residents can print off an application and then take it to the Sheriff of the county they reside in.
Must be at least 21 years of age Must complete an application form Must not be prohibited from possessing a firearm under Minnesota Statute 624.714 Must not be listed in the criminal gang investigation system Must be a resident of the county from which you are requesting a permit, if you reside in Minnesota. Non-residents may apply to any Minnesota county sheriff. Must provide certificate of completed authorized firearms training. Training by a certified instructor and completed within one year of an original or renewal application. (624.714, Subd. 2a)
The same as the first time you applied. Take a class and apply at your local sheriff's dept.
a public or private elementary, middle, or secondary school building and its improved grounds, whether leased or owned by the school; a child care center licensed under chapter 245A during the period children are present and participating in a child care program; the area within a school bus when that bus is being used by a school to transport one or more elementary, middle, or secondary school students to and from school-related activities, including curricular, co-curricular, non curricular, extracurricular, and supplementary activities; and that portion of a building or facility under the temporary, exclusive control of a public or private school, a school district, or an association of such entities where conspicuous signs are prominently posted at each entrance that give actual notice to persons of the school-related use. www.handgunlaw.us 3 Private establishments - if posted or if personally requested to leave by the operator because that establishment bans guns on premises. Places of employment, public or private, if employer restricts the carry or possession of firearms by its employees. A public post secondary institution ... may establish policies that restrict the carry or possession of firearms by its students while on the institution's property. ... an employer or a post secondary institution may not prohibit the lawful carry or possession of firearms in a parking facility or parking area State correctional facilities or state hospitals and grounds (MN Statute 243.55) Any jail, lockup or correctional facility (MN Statute 641.165) In federal court facilities or other federal facilities (Title 18 U.S.C.§ 930)
A. Landlords may not restrict the lawful carry or possession of firearms by tenants or their guests.
No, ignoring the sign is not against the law. If asked to leave you must leave otherwise you could be charged with misdemeanor trespass.
No, they can not limit or prohibit the lawful carry or possession of firearms in a parking facility or parking area.
No. In Minnesota it is not required to tell the officer unless they ask. I would recommend that you get in the habit of always notifying right away to avoid a confrontation.
No. For privacy reasons it is not attached to your driver's license. The officer must run your name in the Permit to Carry database to find out if you have a permit.
Yes as long as you are legal to carry in the state where the national park is.
Minnesota Statutes 2003 Chapter 609 609.06 Authorized use of force. 609.065 Justifiable taking of life. 609.066 Authorized use of deadly force by peace officers.
Yes. Consuming alcohol while carrying is dangerous but not illegal. But if your BAC is above .04 then you are in violation of the law and could be ticketed or arrested.